Getty Images

The NFL changed its uniform rules this year to allow most players to wear No. 0, marking the first time the digit has been permitted since 1972. Players have wasted no time embracing the change, with a dozen already claiming No. 0 as their own.

So which NFL players are actually set to rock a No. 0 jersey in 2023? Here's a complete rundown:

PositionPlayerTeamPrevious No.

D'Andre Swift




Calvin Ridley




Parris Campbell




Marvin Jones Jr.



WRBraxton BerriosDolphins10
WRZach PascalCardinals3
EDGEBrian BurnsPanthers53
LBRoquan SmithRavens18
LBLorenzo CarterFalcons9
LBByron YoungRamsN/A
LBYaYa DiabyBuccaneersN/A
CBSean Murphy-BuntingTitans23

Roquan Smith is the most accomplished player to take up No. 0, entering 2023 seeking a fourth All-Pro nod as a centerpiece of the Ravens defense. Interestingly, he only wore his previous number, 18, for half a season, switching from his original No. 58 after a midseason trade from the Bears in 2022. He joins Panthers two-time Pro Bowler Brian Burns and Jaguars wideout Calvin Ridley as players transferring to No. 0 while remaining with the same team from last year, though Ridley did not take a snap for Jacksonville last year while serving a suspension.

Most of the players on the list figure to be starters or play prominent roles in 2023, so the No. 0 should get plenty of exposure. Swift could be the new top ball-carrier for the defending NFC champions, Ridley is poised to be Trevor Lawrence's top target in Jacksonville, Campbell is one of several veteran additions to a restocked Giants offense, and Jones is likely to see No. 2 reps reuniting with Detroit as fellow Lions WR Jameson Williams serves a suspension.